Hello there everyone, there has been some discussion about liches on the Discord, and on Denis Dyack's request, I'll try to present my points in this forum thread for posterity. Excuse the rambling, unfocused nature of the post, folks, I'm not a professional journalist and even then I've seen professional journalists with worse writing skills, oh, sick burn.

So what is a lich? A lot of people will probably answer with the first image that comes to their mind - a skeleton in wizard robes. But where does the modern image of a lich as a powerful skeletal spellcaster that cannot be killed through ordinary means come from? What defines it? The modern lich was invented by Gary Gygax and Rob Kuntz for Dungeons and Dragons in 1976.
Earlier stories of lich-like characters like Robert E. Howard's Skull-Face, or even Oscar Wilde's Picture of Dorian Gray almost certainly served as the inspiration, but I'd like to take some time and focus on a Russian folk character that fits the modern definition of a lich almost to a T, Koschei the Deathless.
Usually portrayed simply as an old man, sometimes wearing royal clothes, sometimes wearing nothing at all, all stories featuring him give him one common attribute - he cannot be killed, because his "death" is not "in his body". It's in some other object, usually hidden within several other objects or guarded by other creatures, a famous example being "a needle inside of an egg inside of a duck". This isn't yet the resurrective immortality of a lich, mind you, but it's ALMOST there. Koschei is simply invincible and usually drops dead as soon as his death object is broken.